Port forwarding. Does it work?

Post » Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:52 am

So I have my PS3 in the DMZ. My question is does the port forwarding thing really work in regards to lag or connection interupted issues? I just checked my ports 80,443,5223 in the TCP and ports 3478,3479 and 3658 in UDP. They are all closed and cannot be pinged. Can anyone tell me if opening these will improve the game.

If so, why did I not have to do this in MW2 or BFBC2.
User avatar
Jade Muggeridge
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 6:51 pm

Post » Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:50 pm

if your PS3 is dmz'd....no reason to port forward.....
Just remember to set a static ip on the PS3!!!
User avatar
Bee Baby
 
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:47 am

Post » Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:25 pm

Cool thats what I thought, but then I got reading this link and it got me wondering.

http://foggaming.com/modules.php?name=PS3&file=ps3_ip
User avatar
Erin S
 
Posts: 2551
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:06 pm

Post » Sun Sep 19, 2010 3:54 am

hes right about that, but if you are gonna port forward, call the manufactuer to your router and they will forward your ports for you.
User avatar
benjamin corsini
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:32 pm

Post » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:18 am

Cool thats what I thought, but then I got reading this link and it got me wondering.

http://foggaming.com/modules.php?name=PS3&file=ps3_ip


Now you guys have wondering as well...

I had originallt port forwarded without remembering to set a static ip for the ps3....next time i turned it back on....back to strict i went....

then i set the ip static....then put the ps3 into the dmz....then removed my port forwarding....never strict anymore!

but both forwarding and dmz???? huh... i wonder if this has more merit
thanks....will check back again....
User avatar
Vicki Gunn
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:59 am


Return to Cod -- Black Ops Playstation 3